The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Safety procedures

There is a legal obligation to report accidents and incidents (situations that could have led to an accident). Contact your head of the unit as well as your health and safety representative for assistance in this matter. Download forms from Lund University's Staff Pages.

General safety procedures for the department

General safety routines (updated 2016-11-15, pdf, 830 kB, new tab)

Some research groups and houses have special safety routines for their laboratories. Contact your health and safety representative.

Student safety

General information about student safety on the education website.

Environmental officers

The links below go to contact information on external websites.

Contact person for ionising radiation, Gisela, contact person for lasers, and responsible for pressurised devices (autoclaves)

Erling Jirle

Fire coordinators

Henrik Wendel
Nils Sundqvist, acting deputy

Hot work permit holder

Nils Sundqvist

Director of flammable goods

Biology Building A and Greenhouse G

Mats Hansson

Biology Building B

Eric Warrant

Biology Building C and D

Eric Warrant and Staffan Bensch

Ecology Building, GU premises and Biology building, zoology storeroom

Jep Agrell

Ecology building, joint storeroom

Henrik Wendel

Ecology building, Functional ecology

Anders Nilsson

Ecology building, Biodiversity and biosciences

Magne Friberg

Ecology building, Evolutionary ecology and infection biology

Staffan Bensch

Ecology building, Sensory biology

Eric Warrant

Biological Museum, Ecology building

Niklas Wahlberg

Biological Museum, Arkivcentrum Syd

Ulf Arup