The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Biology Department Board

The Board is the decision-making body at the Department of Biology. Board members are democratically elected. The Board includes 8 members of teaching staff, 3 doctoral or other students, and 3 other staff members. The head of the department is the chair. The administrative manager and the director of studies are co-opted to the Board. The term of office is three years, except for student representatives who only serve one year.

The Board is responsible for policy, budget and strategic matters as well as overall monitoring of the department activities. More information on the Board’s authority and duties can be found in the Faculty of Science delegation rules and the Lund University rules and regulations.

Board members

The following links go to contact information on Staff Pages.



The department board at the Biology blog

The links below lead to our internal blog. The texts are in Swedish.

Institutionsstyrelsen har möte den 8 februari klockan 13.15 i Stora konferensrummet i Ekologihuset. Följande står på dag...
Den 14 december hade institutionsstyrelsen möte. Då diskuterades bland annat budgeten för 2023, personalärenden, översyn...
Den 23 november hade institutionsstyrelsen möte. Då diskuterades bland annat budgeten för 2023, anställningsärenden, str...


Jessica Abbott
Head of Department of Biology, Senior lecturer

Telephone: +46 46 222 93 04
E-mail: prefekt [at] biol [dot] lu [dot] se


Joakim Nilsson
Head of administration
Department of Biology

Telephone: +46 46 222 38 02
E-mail: Joakim [dot] Nilsson [at] biol [dot] lu [dot] se